Who I am vs. Who I want to be…

Last year around this time,  I decided to make a list…  a list of “Who I am… and Who I wanted to be..” I found that it was much easier at the time to hammer out all the things I dreamed of and wanted to accomplish in life, but looking at the reality of who I was and the woman I’d become was nothing I even wanted to begin to dive into.  I found that list a few weeks ago and thought creating a new list would be a good way to begin prepping for my New Years Resolution.   ( yes… I only make one a year… and yes I’m still quite on track with mine which is a small miracle in and of itself  😉 )

In creating this new list, I’ve been noticing the greatest thing I’m struggling with is finding the balance between… setting goals and dreaming and fully trusting and following God’s plan for my life.

Jeremiah 29:11 speaks it so simply…

” For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord.  They are plans for good and not for disaster to give you a future and a hope.”  If  as a Christian, I am expected to fully believe that this is true, then are we really suppose to dream and hope and plan?

I say yes, dream… and DREAM BIG!!!   Hope for things that are unimaginable… because He tells us over in Mark…

“Have faith in God.  I assure you that you can say to this mountain. May God lift you up and drop you into the sea, and your commands will be obeyed.   All that’s required is that you really believe and do not doubt in your heart.  Listen to me! You can pray for anything, and if you believe it, you will have it. But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.”

So many times I’ve grappled with this verse this year, trying to decide if God really meant, ask for anything… believe that anything you’d ever hoped and dreamed of were to become a reality… and how does that coincide with following God’s will for your life.  It can become quite complex if you really over think it. And recently I’ve really just realized its simple.  He does.

My list I created last year was a list of everything I wanted in life,  who I wanted to become, the way I wanted to live, my passions I wanted to shine through in my personality… the other day I realized… slowly every last thing on my list has come into fruition.  Yes there are a few that have not yet happened, but I know one thing for certain… even if nothing else from my list is accomplished or fulfilled…  I will remain faithful & believe that Gods plan is best for my life… and that trumps every list, hope, dream or plan I can come up with on my own.

What are you hoping for… have you ever thought of making a list of who you are vs who you want to be?  Daring to take the steps to being who God wants you to be, will be the most rewarding list you can begin to follow.  Just have faith…

Eliza 

 

 

Leave a Reply

